Single on Valentine’s Day {Part 2}

If you’d asked me how I thought I’d feel on Valentine’s evening, I’d have answered easily. I’d be happy and fulfilled after a busy day with my boy, spending some quality time together. Ready to settle down for an evening alone, in PJs catching up on Mr Selfridge.

I had no idea how today was going to turn out, and that I’d be here alone, in PJs with my heart full to bursting with gratitude.

I wasn’t expecting any gifts; flowers or chocolates. I hadn’t sent myself any (I quite often do….) and I don’t have a secret admirer. And I couldn’t have been more fine about it. I don’t feel at all pressured to have someone to look after me or make me feel special. Especially when prompted on a specific day to do so.

So you can imagine my surprise to come home to a huge bunch of beautiful roses, with my name on them. The card said that they were from Raffy, but it was all organised by his dad.

It may seem a little unorthodox to be receiving such gifts from your ex, but I can’t tell you what it means to me. Coming from (no offence) the least forward-planning and romantic man on the planet, these were a massive surprise. But what’s more than that, is that they are a symbol of friendship. Of kindness and of love.

Despite everything that we’ve been through, it overwhelms me that we are able to stick together, though separated and still be a family. That Raffy can still have two parents and learn about chivalry and team work.

I also have some rather amazing friends who gave Raffy some flowers and a card for me. And a lovely single rose left for me by another friend.

I can’t begin to explain how much I appreciate that so many people are thinking of me, to know that I am surrounded by so many beautiful people. This Valentine’s Day has been full of love, and I’m a very lucky lady.

IMG_0148

One thought on “Single on Valentine’s Day {Part 2}

Leave a Reply

