Life: Upside Down

Well, I was planning posting about what an amazing weekend we had, but I’ve put that one, along with the rest of normal life, on hold for this week. Raffs woke up on Monday with what looked like a standard cold, but by Monday evening was having trouble breathing and had to go in an ambulance to hospital (he wasn’t so sick that he didn’t love the ambulance and ask for the nee-naws).

My this is our first experience of hospital, since Raffy was born and it was an eye opener. Most of the kids on the ward had a chest infection with breathing trouble, like Raffy so we were all in a similar boat. The whole situation was horrible; the worry and helplessness of seeing your baby so poorly and knowing there’s nothing you can do. The exhaustion from lack of sleep and the relentless care, the desperation to get a break and go for some fresh air but knowing that you couldn’t possibly leave.

I got talking to the other parents on the ward with us and with each of their stories, I was glad to have my own problems. One was in with her two year old, leaving her 6 week old baby at home, another with one of her ten month old twins, having been in hospital with the other twin just a few days before. Both mums were swapping shifts with their husbands to get some sleep and see their other children, and while I did miss the support of a partner to take some of the weight off, I was also glad to be able to be there for Raffy knowing that nobody else needed me.

IMG_6127.JPG

I can’t imagine having to do all of this on a regular basis and my heart really goes out to those that do. I know there are a million parents that would love a chest infection to be their biggest problem and this experience has made me really take stock of all that I have.

So I’m taking the next couple of days off to snuggle up and watch movies with my little boy. I’ll get back to writing all about our last weekends’ adventures later……

3 thoughts on “Life: Upside Down

  1. Oh I’m sorry to hear about Raffy I hope he’s on the mend now and you have managed to catch up a bit.!it does all make things rather slot into perspective doesn’t it? Look forward to hearing about your adventure when you have a healthy house again πŸ™‚ xx

  2. Poor poor Raffy! I hope he’s feeling better now? We’ve been in hospital with a chest infection before and it was horrible. Lots of love!

    Thanks for linking up to #TWTWC xx

Leave a Reply

