Life: Happy as a Two

Over the last couple of months, I’ve been having a massive internal battle about how to handle my relationship with Raffy’s dad going forwards. Everything has been going seemingly well when we have recently hit a little bump in the road.
As sad as I am about everything going on, I feel surprisingly calm about it. It probably helps that I was half expecting it. But mostly, I think I’ve gained a lot of perspective over the last few months.
It’s so easy to get angry and frustrated; to say exactly what’s on your mind without thinking about it. And sometimes I still do (I am, after all, human). But I’m really trying to choose my battles.
I am hurt by some of his choices and mostly, I don’t understand them. But who am I to penalise him for living his life the way he wants it? I am free to live mine however I choose and so should he be. I just have to trust that he has carefully weighed everything up and understands what he’s sacrificing.
My life is considerably different to how I planned it to be, I have different struggles now. But it’s still good.
I feel immensely proud of my achievements, my ability to handle things I had never even contemplated before. I feel strong and entirely vulnerable all at once. But I don’t have to worry about whether or not I can do it on my own, because I already am, and we’re happy as a two.

IMG_5353.JPG

Leave a Reply

