Living: Hampton Court Flower Show

Hampton Court Palace is one of my all time favourite places is the world. Apart from being breathtakingly beautiful, I love how it catalogues so many historical phases in one place. The landscape gardens are immaculate and go on forever, so there could be no more fitting place to host a flower show.

This was my first flower show and, despite my relative lack of interest in gardening, I was looking forward to it. To be honest, I prefer my flowers bouquet style with a side of chocolate but I love an exhibition so I was excited.

So we spent the day meandering through rows and rows of stalls selling gadgets and contraptions that I couldn’t possibly work out a use for. There were some mini gardens set up all over the place as a kind of live Pinterest board and lots of flowers.

Mum bought a gorgeous wax jacket from Welligogs, a family run business designing and making fashion forward country wear. She made sure to try on absolutely every style they had, only to choose the one they had sold out of, so will have to wait for delivery. I was almost prepared to offer myself up for dog walking duty as a reason to buy their Ranger boot!

The highlight of the whole day for me was buying Raffy an ice cream and watching him entertain half of Hampton Court trying to eat it.

20140709-230734-83254336.jpg

He was doing relatively well until some dripped on his thumb and when trying to lick it off, coated his entire face in it!

20140709-231041-83441504.jpg

All in all, it was a lovely, day out, however I wouldn’t be in too much of a rush to go again. It’s also not really very practical with children as it’s so busy and there’s not really anything the can do! Luckily Raffy was happy wandering around pushing the buggy and eating ice cream, but I imagine it could easily be a nightmare with young children. It was lovely to hang out with mum for the day though!

 

Leave a Reply

