Food: Procrastination Baking

As I have said before, I am the queen of procrastination. Today’s particular delay tactic was inspired by a good friend and colleague who brought some delicious banana bread into work yesterday and a fruit bowl full of past-their-best bananas. Usually, once I have found a reliable recipe (especially where baking is concerned) it get’s stored safely to be reused over and over again, to maximise my chances of a successful recreation. Banana bread, however, is so easy that there is no need. I usually do a quick google to remind myself of the quantities, and finding a recipe which most closely reflects the contents of my fridge, get cracking making whichever substitutions necessary.  This time I chose  a vegan recipe as I was out of eggs! I also made  it flour less and switched the oil from sunflower to olive.

Let’s see if there’s any left for me to take into work and share tomorrow….!

 

photo 1

Ingredients:

  • 225g Plain flour (or use Self-raising flour and reduce the Baking powder to 2 heaped tsp){ I switched this to almond meal}
  • 3 heaped tsp Baking powder
  • 100g Brown sugar
  • 3 tsp Cinnamon or Mixed spice
  • 3 large ripe bananas, mashed
  • 75g Vegetable or Sunflower oil (weight) {I switched to olive oil}
  • 50g Dried fruit or nuts (optional) {I added raisins}

 

Method:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 200 degrees Celcius.
  2. Mash the peeled bananas with a fork. Mix well with oil and sugar.
  3. Add the flour, baking powder and cinnamon, and combine well.
  4. Add any additional ingredients.
  5. Baked in a greased and lined 2lb loaf tin for 20 minutes, before checking. Cover with foil, if the loaf cake is browning. Bake for another 40 minutes (approximately).
  6. Allow to cool a little before slicing. It’s delicious freshly baked but even yummier when it goes gooey the next day!

Original recipe can be found here

photo 2

 

Leave a Reply

